Online Professional Development

Online Training Screenshot

New training coming soon

Sign up for our newsletter and be the first to hear about our next professional development offerings.

Sign Up

Need resources right now?

Try our 26 SEL check-ins to jump-start conversations and connections with the youth you serve. This resource is intended as a foundation to ground students in a brave space as we return to school.

Contact Us

We can customize a professional development training to meet your staff’s needs, whether you’re looking to run a single workshop, a half-day, full-day, or multi-day training. Email info@girlsleadership.org to learn more.

 

Online Professional Deveolpment: Racial and Gender Equity Strategies

Join Girls Leadership this summer for a restorative professional development experience that centers wellness and radical-self-care. Our community will create a healing-centered environment, so you can do the same for the youth you serve as they come back to the classroom. You’ll leave with concrete tools, including a robust curriculum, to teach SEL that centers racial and gender equity to cultivate the voice, power and leadership of every student.

 

Online Professional Development

The online summer professional development series was designed to help educators from across the country prepare for the fall and the return to the classroom with concrete tools that address racial and gender equity in schools (anti-racism, anti-misogyny) and the heightened social emotional learning needs of students. We will build an expansive community that prioritizes collective healing, wellness practices, and collaboration.

 

How it Works

Choose 1, 2, or 3 weeks of live facilitated sessions (all sessions are on Tuesdays and Thursdays).

Daily Schedule

9:15am PST/12:15pm EST Opening Mindfulness Activity (optional)
10am PST/1pm EST Workshop Modules & Outcomes
Week 1: Brave Space, SEL, Culturally Responsive Mindsets
Week 2: Bias Intervention, Compassion Fatigue
Week 3: Trauma-Informed Practices, Healing-Centered Engagement
12pm PST/3pm EST Break/Meal/Fresh Air
1pm PST/4pm EST Cohort collaboration (optional)
2pm PST/5pm EST Session ends

 

Cohort Collaboration

Bring a lesson plan, problem of practice or an idea you are chewing on to share with other educators and receive feedback. Participants will choose from a structured conference-style collaboration time, or a free-flowing conversational time with peers.

Curriculum

Our gender and culturally responsive curriculum includes 60+ lessons and focuses on five domains with lessons aligned to developmentally appropriate outcomes at three levels, Introductory, Developing, and Advanced.

It was developed in partnership with middle school girls in grades 6-8 from across the country, including Girls Athletics Leadership School in Denver and Los Angeles, The Young Women’s Leadership Schools in the Bronx and Astoria, and United Playaz and West Bay Pilipino Services Center in San Francisco to support the development, testing, and iteration of our lessons.

Girls Leadership Facilitators

Cassandra Brown and Catherine MacDonald Burns

Dates

Week 1 July 27 & 29: Brave Space, SEL, Culturally Responsive Mindsets
Week 2 August 3 & 5: Bias Intervention, Compassion Fatigue
Week 3 August 10 & 12: Trauma-Informed Practices, Healing-Centered Engagement

 

Pricing

The full 3 weeks includes 6 facilitated sessions, our updated SEL curriculum (60+ lessons that center gender and racial equity), and 1 group coaching session.
$400 *$50 savings applied at checkout

Have limited time? Choose one or two weeks that resonate most.
Each week includes 2 facilitated sessions and 10 lessons.
$150

Group Discount
10% off for groups of 3 or more from the same school or organization. Use discount code PDGROUP2021 at checkout.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I receive credits for this professional development? 
If your supervising organization approves this professional development to meet CEUs, we can approve documentation that certifies your hours of participation.

Who is the professional development for? 
The sessions are designed for educators, administrators, district leaders, youth-serving professionals, counselors, and formal volunteers who work regularly with girls in grades 5-8.   

Can I train others to teach the curriculum? 
Completion of this professional development does not authorize individuals to sell the program or train others to teach it.